CHRONICLES OF MY NHJ: THE DECISION TO GO NATURAL

Hello everyone!!!! How are we all doing??? Wonderful evening here in the East and by wonderful i mean its raining.
The first time I spoke to my mum about going natural, she was almost scared for me, saying that I would not have the time and money to take care of natural hair because it was only “fashionistas” that had the time and energy to take care of natural hair.
Before I decided to go natural, I had already begun a healthy hair journey in 2013. I realised that my hair indeed was my crown and that it had started loosing its decorative pearls. So, with the help of my mum, I picked interest in having healthy hair. I started relaxing once in six months and started taking care of my hair myself at home. I was mostly on my natural permed hair and hardly manipulated it or stressed it with protective styles.
I started shampooing every month, and co-washed weekly. I used olive oil and honey mostly on my hair and castor oil to regrow my edges.

image

Before Healthy Hair Journey

image

After Healthy Hair Journey

I continued taking care of my permed natural hair until I met my friend’s sis who newly had a big chop and she looked good! That was when I decided to go natural.
I started doing a lot of research on google, pinterest, instagram, facebook, bbm, everywhere! And I realised that there were more naturalistas in Anambra state alone than I thought. I then started my transitioning stage in February, 2015 and im about to do my big chop in October!.

image

Transitioning pic of 8months

Very soon I will fully join the natural community. Its going to be fun!! 😀

3 thoughts on “CHRONICLES OF MY NHJ: THE DECISION TO GO NATURAL

Leave a Reply

