OLIVE OIL

Olive oil is a fat obtained from the olive (the fruit of Olea europaea; family Oleaceae), a traditional tree crop of the Mediterranean Basin. The oil is produced by pressing whole olives and is commonly used in cooking, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, and soaps, and as a fuel for traditional oil lamps. Olive oil is used throughout the world and is often associated with Mediterranean countries.

FAT COMPOSITION
Saturated fats
Total saturated Palmitic acid: 13.0%
Stearic acid: 1.5%

Unsaturated fats
Total unsaturated > 85%
Monounsaturated Oleic acid: 70.0%
Palmitoleic acid: 0.3–3.5%
Polyunsaturated Linoleic acid: 15.0%
α-Linolenic acid: 0.5%

Properties
Food energy per 100 g (3.5 oz) 3,700 kJ (880 kcal)
Melting point −6.0 °C (21.2 °F)
Boiling point 300 °C (572 °F)
Smoke point 190 °C (374 °F) (virgin)
210 °C (410 °F) (refined)
Specific gravity at 20 °C (68 °F) 0.911[1]
Viscosity at 20 °C (68 °F) 84 cP
Refractive index 1.4677–1.4705 (virgin and refined)
1.4680–1.4707 (pomace)
Iodine value 75–94 (virgin and refined)
75–92 (pomace)
Acid value maximum: 6.6 (refined and pomace)
0.6 (extra-virgin)
Saponification value 184–196 (virgin and refined)
182–193 (pomace)
Peroxide value 20 (virgin)

As a child, I grew up using olive oil for almost everything. I used it for my hair,my skin, and even for cooking. Whenever people hear me say that i use olive oil as a skin cream, they have this “is this one crazy?” look on their faces like “who does that?” but it works for me so I dont really care what they think.
So! Im going to list out what and what I presently use olive oil for.
1. An Oil for my hair
2. Use it with honey for my skin
3. Use it with sugar to exfoliate my face
4. To prevent acne on my face
My mum has been using olive oil as a mosturizer for her skin for as long as i can remember and her skin is to die for.
Simply put, Olive Oil is the best thing that has happened to me ever!
So simply go to a store near you or online and get yourself a bottle of original extra virgin olive oil.

Leave a Reply

