POEM REVIEW: A WOMAN’S QUESTION by LENA LATHROP

Hello people! No, I’m not dead lol I’ve been here thinking and thinking about what to give you and I finally have it! 😋
I know you have missed our POEM REVIEWS because judging by the stats, you guys love them so much, not that I blame you though 😁.
Today’s review is on a poem titled A WOMAN’S QUESTION

Do you know you have asked for the costliest thing
Ever made by the Hand above?
A woman’s heart and a woman’s life
And a woman’s wonderful love

Do you know you have asked for this priceless thing
As a child might ask for a toy?
Demanding what others have died to win,
With the reckless dash of a boy

You have written my lesson of duty out
Manlike, you have questioned me.
Now stand at the bars of my woman’s soul
Until I shall question thee

You require your mutton shall always be hot,
Your socks and your shit be whole;
I require your heart be true as God’s stars
And as pure as his heaven your soul

You require a cook for your mutton and beef,
I require a far greater thing,
A seamstress you’re wanting for socks and shirts
I look for a man and a king

A king for the beautiful realm called home,
And a man that his Maker, God,
Shall look upon as He did on the first
And say: It is very good

I am fair and young but the rose may fade
From this soft young cheek one day;
Will you love me then ‘mid the falling leaves,
As you did ‘mong the blossoms of May?

Is your heart an ocean so strong and true,
I may launch my all on its tide?
A loving woman finds heaven or hell
On the day she is made a bride.

I require all things that are grand and true,
All things that a man should be;
If you give this all, I would stake my life
To be all you demand of me.

If you cannot be this, a laundress and cook
You can hire and little to pay;
But a woman’s heart and a woman’s life
Are not to be won that way.

It baffles me that when man wants to get married and he is asked what he wants in a woman, he begins to list out a lot of stuff like: she must be well behaved, from a good family, must be beautiful and educated, must know how to cook and wash with her hands, my mother must like her and she must be a Christian. When he lists out all that, he is praised and is said to be a responsible young man looking for a good wife.
However, when a woman is asked what she wants in a man, the person who even asks the question would already be in doubt and would already be taking her unseriously as she speaks. When she begins to list out a lot of stuff like: he must be a Christian, tall and handsome, financially comfortable, attentive and sensitive to my needs, should have good potential fatherhood traits, would love me even when I am fat. Even before she is done, the person asking the question cuts her short and rebukes her. The most common statement is “You are too picky! When you turn 30, I am sure that list will reduce! Fish brain!”
This happens everywhere in Nigeria and this has made it difficult for young women to wait on God to give them what they desire in a man. They are belittled and bullied into marriages that would make them sad and to suffer.
Marriage involves a lot of sacrifices especially from the woman and through all this, she needs to be loved, caressed, supported and encouraged. No good woman would want to sweat and kill herself for a man who does not deserve her love. I stumbled upon a tweet on twitter where a woman was thanking God she is single because of the many failed marriages and relationships she has seen around her.
I saw another that said that people don’t want you to date, but they expect the woman to be married before 25.
Women are human beings first and they have wants, and feelings. Men! Are you man enough to answer those questions in the poem? Will your egos let you answer them? Or will it lead you to hide behind the word “MAN” like it always does?
If you are man enough for the queen that you desire answer the questions
“I am fair and young but the rose may fade
From this soft young cheek one day;
Will you love me then ‘mid the falling leaves,
As you did ‘mong the blossoms of May?”

What is now very common in the Nigerian society is that men now “get bored” of their wives whom they swore before the altar of God to be with “for better” or “for worse”. If you walk the streets of federal universities, you see men old enough to be grandfathers, picking up younger girls in their bid to “catch them young” or “taste fresh blood”. Infact, they don’t now wait till they are old, some of them are newly married and still get bored. Yet, more and more women are being bullied into marriages against their will because they probably are not sensible enough to know what they want.
The truth is that, if you are a parent, or a guardian and your daughter decides to be with a hoodlum or a bad man, then it is you who has failed in the upbringing of your child and you have to face the consequences and try to live with it while supporting your child through it.
Women! Don’t be too scared to demand from a man what you need in a husband. If you are a strong, graceful, lovely Christian woman and you have needs, give them to God and keep your standards high!
Any person who demands that you lower your standards just a tiny bit to accommodate his flaws is a coward and has no respect for your love.
You are a queen
A queen has a king.
A king is royalty
A queen must have royalty!
Not a coward
YOU ARE YOUR OWN WOMAN

image

4 thoughts on “POEM REVIEW: A WOMAN’S QUESTION by LENA LATHROP

  1. Igwe says:

    Hmmm, nice one, though it’s more like a feminist point of view. But the fact still remains that whether you are a guy or a babe, You should know the qualities youn your spouse and go for it.

    Like

  2. Shadreck Mpofu says:

    I really enjoyed this poem and I shared with on my facebook. I came across it when I was reading a book called I kissed dating goodbye but you have a huge Typo on your post.I have highlighted it in capitals is there a way you could edit it

    You require your mutton shall always be hot,
    Your socks and your SHIT (Instead of SHIRT) be whole;
    I require your heart be true as God’s stars
    And as pure as his heaven your soul

    Like

Leave a Reply

