I am Who I am by: Meisha-Kay (Jamaican poet)

POWERFUL

HayzSays

I am who I am by: Meisha-Kay (Jamaican poet)

10502468_835975786464147_8837368581931629467_n

Dont get me wrong;
you insult me when you constantly ask to which group I belong?
I know who I am and I am an African.
I am not Zulu,
Nor am I Xhosa,
I am not Ashanti,
Neither am I Fanti,
I wasn’t born a Mandingo and
I surely won’t die an Igbo,
I am who I am, and I am an African.

I tried crossing borders, but you didn’t let me,
Instead you said I was a threat because I looked Fulani,
Wait! Before I go further,
would you love me any less if my ancestors were Berber?
I am who I am, and I am an African.

Whether my heart choses to dance to the beat of a Nyabingi,Kette or Congo drum,
Whether you chose to label me as Amhara, Dongo or Fong.
I am who I am…

View original post 68 more words

Leave a Reply

