ONCE I WAS 22 (PART 1)

​Dear child, what have you done?

You were so pretty and with life

So happy and free

I envied you at some point 

And even I am but 31

Nine years ago I was you

Young, wild and free

The air stank of boys and booze 

I liked to hear that I was pretty 

Sexy became my middle name

Mistakes? I made them! 

A whole lot of them my love

The doctor by the old church 

The bush behind the house

My bedroom window too.

Come here, lean on me

Let it out baby

Let out the insecurities and the pain

The false I love you’s 

And the fake truths

PART 2

Leave a Reply

