CHRONICLES OF MY NHJ: MY PLANS FOR HARMATTAN

Hey everyone! It’s been a while right? I’ve been busy trying to write more stories for us to read. I completely forgot that I owe the naturalistas consistent gist about my natural hair journey.

SO FAR SO GOOD

Well, right now I have gotten to that point where my hair cannot scare me again or throw me of balance. I know exactly what works for my hair and doesn’t and next year I’m going to start experimenting on branded products and see which ones work for me.&

As we all know harmattan is nigh and this is when we know the brave naturalistas. Me? I am very shy. I just kent deal! It is very possible for you to wear your hair out this period though but you have to be read to get your mosturising game and your head wrap mojo on.

For me who is not confident in her consistency in mosturising, protective styling is the way forward. I am going to protect my hair this period in two ways:

WIGS

I will simply put my hair in corn rows and wear a wig when I need to go out. These corn rows would last about two weeks, then I would wash, condition and re-braid. This doesn’t mean that I’m just going to ignore my hair for two weeks. I will also moisturize my hair and clean my scalp periodically and sleep with a satin scarf or a bonnet.

CROCHET BRAIDS

My DIY crochet styles have been improving over time with practice. So, it’s going to be one of the ways I’m going to protect my hair during the harmattan period. Just like when I will use the wigs,  I will take care of my hair and scalp to avoid knotting and drying out.

CROCHET BRAIDS WITH EXPRESSION HAIR

CROCHET BRAIDS WITH BRAZILIAN WOOL

CROCHET BRAIDS BY ME

I chose these two methods because they are easy and I can do them myself. This will save me some money too because hair stylists hike their prices during this period and so I would spend much.

Let me know what you are doing to your hair too! 

6 thoughts on “CHRONICLES OF MY NHJ: MY PLANS FOR HARMATTAN

Leave a Reply

