WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO US?

Hello guys, i’m really sorry about the long absence. I had just resumed school and have been working on a lot of things. I didn’t want to put up posts that seemed rushed so I just stayed away until I got a level head.

Today we are going to talk about something. It’s a question actually.

WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO US (CHRISTIANS)

I was in my room on a Saturday morning trying to do my Yoga workout. I was following instructions from a video I downloaded from youtube and I had a headset on.

“…and now slowly ascend from a lounge into a warrior pose-” 

*knock knock*

“…make sure your left knee is bent while you slowly descend into warrior 2 and hold-“

*knock knock*

There it was again.

I was seriously sweating and it took me a while to gain the balance I was about to lose to go answer the door.

*knock knock*

Oh God.

I paused the video and went to answer the door.

When I opened the door I saw two women with handbags smiling at me. One had an umbrella in her other hand and the second one had a stack of magazines in her other hand. When they started talking, I realised that they were ‘evangelists’ from a certain church popular for their ‘evangelism’. They introduced themselves and then asked the same question.

WE ARE CHRISTIANS AND BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO US. WHY?

She opened a chapter in the book of Job (can’t really remember which), read it out and asked me what I understood from it, and I told her. Frankly I was interested in this question because when I lost my cousin, I consoled myself with the fact that God allowed his death to happen because he sees all things. I thought that as she quoted a passage from the book of job that her speech was going to go in the same line. To my surprise, it didn’t.

She went ahead to say that God does not cause bad things and he does not allow them either. She said that bad things are caused by the devil or by our own mistakes as human beings. She also said that when people have accidents and die, that there is a probability that it happened because the deceased where bad people or something.

This was very new to me.

When she was done, she gave me a magazine that talked about it further. I took my time to read it later on and I was amazed at how many points of view there were to this particular issue. I am however going to tell you my point of view and you are going to tell me yours.

MY POINT OF VIEW

First of all, I believe that there  is a God and he is everywhere and he sees everything. I believe that God is in charge of the affairs of the universe and nothing goes by without his noticing it. When I was a kid, I always imagined heaven to be a huge IT establishment with alot of tv screens with angels monitoring them. I also imagined that prayers came like calls to a customer care section and that the angels received these calls through their headsets and forwarded the prayers to God at the end of the day (my imagination as a kid was wild).

Now, if God is in charge of everything, then I think sometimes, he allows bad things to happen to us for reasons best known to him. The human wisdom cannot even begin to comprehend God or why he does the things he does. He’s not human, he’s an entity that is just everywhere like CCTV cameras in a huge mall except that there are some things he sees and ignores and we can never understand why.

When my cousin died, I tried so hard to understand exactly why a 21 year old would just die without warning. There were no signs of struggle and people who were there when his corpse was still fresh said that he looked like was sleeping even with a little smile on his face. Eventually, I got tired of thinking with my small human brain and decided to just allow God to take control in his wisdom.

There is a hymn we sing in my church (i’m anglican). My mum loves this hymn so much and i’m going to share it with you guys before I leave.

Hymn Ancient & Modern 181

God moves in a mysterious way
his wonders to perform.
He plants his footsteps in the sea
and rides upon the storm.

Deep in unfathomable mines
of never-failing skill,
he treasures up his bright designs
and works his sovereign will.

You fearful saints, fresh courage take;
the clouds you so much dread
are big with mercy and shall break
in blessings on your head.

His purposes will ripen fast,
unfolding every hour.
The bud may have a bitter taste,
but sweet will be the flower.

Blind unbelief is sure to err
and scan his work in vain.
God is his own interpreter,
and he will make it plain.

So, that’s my answer to the question of today. I would like to know yours so that we can learn from each other like it’s a group study.

Once again, i’m really sorry about the long absence and I hope to be more consistent and make you guys happier before the year runs out. Thanks for all the views even in my absence. It shows how supportive you guys are. I love you all.

3 thoughts on “WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO US?

  1. Zoe says:

    Hi, Femaleigboarchitect.

    I’m attempting a comment on this topic not because I think I know the answer to the question but because I’ve asked myself the question, i’ve asked God and i’ve sought for answers to the question.
    What I discovered is not an answer because an answer for a why question should have ‘because’, but what I discovered is a phrase,
    GOD IS GOOD.
    No matter what.

    Did He cause the bad thing to happen, did He allow it, Did He know about it? Honestly I’m not sure, because there are some people Satan cannot touch yet ‘bad’ things happen to them, nevertheless- even though we cannot answer or understand, let’s be rest assured that God is good.

    Knowing God is good encourages us and gives us hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

